Author archives:

La FCIRDI lance un nouvel appel de propositions visant des projets de R et D Canada-Israël

9 avril 2018

OTTAWA (Canada) et TEL AVIV (Israël) — La Fondation Canada-Israël pour la recherche et le développement industriels (FCIRDI) a annoncé aujourd’hui le lancement d’un nouvel appel de propositions relatif à des projets bilatéraux de R et D. Bénéficiant du soutien du

gouvernement du Canada et d’Israël, cet appel de propositions a pour but de stimuler la collaboration en R et D entre les entreprises des deux pays, en privilégiant tout particulièrement la commercialisation des nouvelles technologies.

Admissibilité : Par cet appel, des entreprises privées canadiennes et israéliennes sont invitées à présenter des propositions de projets concertés de recherche, de R et D et de développement technologique en vue de la mise au point de produits ou procédés novateurs, à l’exclusion des applications militaires. La préférence sera accordée aux petites et moyennes entreprises (comptant moins de 500 employés). La durée maximale d’un projet de la FCIRDI est de 24 mois.

  • Les entreprises canadiennes ont la possibilité de collaborer avec le Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en genie du Canada (CRSNG) pour mobiliser une expertise universitaire et faire participer des étudiants à leurs projets de R et D.
  • Les organismes du secteur public, comme les universités et les instituts de recherche peuvent prendre part aux projets de R et D à titre de sous-traitants ou de consultants (mais non comme demandeurs). 

Financement : Au terme d’un processus d’évaluation rigoureux, la FCIRDI sélectionnera les équipes en R et D du Canada et d’Israël qui recevront une aide financière pouvant atteindre 50 pour cent des coûts admissibles du projet, jusqu’à un maximum de 800 000 $ CA par projet. 

Domaines d’intérêt particulier : On privilégiera les projets relevant des domaines suivants :

  • les technologies de l’information et des communications (y compris la cybertechnologie et la
  • technologie financière)
  • les sciences de la vie
  • le secteur aérospatial
  • les technologies vertes et technologies durables (y compris l’eau et les ressources renouvelables) et réserves d’énergie limitées (gaz et pétrole)
  • l’agriculture et l’agroalimentaire (y compris l’agrotechnique)

Échéancier

  • Date limite pour présenter un résumé de proposition : le 31 mai 2018
  • Date limite pour présenter une proposition complète : le 29 juin 2018
  • Annonce des projets approuvés : octobre 2018

À la recherche d’un partenaire en R et D? La FCIRDI offre un service de jumelage aux entreprises dans les deux pays.

Présentez votre demande dès maintenant : Pour connaître les directives, les modèles et le mode d’évaluation des propositions, veuillez consulter le document suivant : www.ciirdf.ca. 

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec :

Le conseil d’administration et le personnel de la FCIRDI pour la recherche et le développement industriels rendent hommage au regretté Keith Parsonage, membre apprécié de la Fondation depuis plus de 12 ans.

20 mars 2018

Le conseil d’administration et le personnel de la Fondation Canada-Israël pour la recherche et le développement industriels rendent hommage au regretté Keith Parsonage, ancien directeur général à Industrie Canada, et membre apprécié de la Fondation depuis plus de 12 ans. Nous nous joignons à ses nombreux collègues et amis au Canada et en Israël pour reconnaître ses loyaux services, son leadership et son engagement à promouvoir l’établissement d’un partenariat technologique et en recherche et développement entre le Canada et l’Israël. Nous désirons transmettre nos plus sincères condoléances à sa famille.

La FCIRDI et l’Association canadienne du gaz (ACG) s’entendent pour renforcer ensemble la cybersécurité des réseaux de distribution de gaz naturel.

9 janvier 2018

M. Timothy M. Egan, président et chef de la direction de l’Association canadienne du gaz, et M. Henri Rothschild, Ph. D., président de la FCIRDI, signent un nouveau protocole d’entente qui facilitera la collaboration Canada-Israël en matière de cybersécurité dans l’industrie de la distribution de gaz naturel.

OTTAWA (Ontario) et TEL AVIV (Israël); le 9 janvier 2018 – La Fondation Canada-Israël pour la recherche et le développement industriels (FCIRDI) et l’Association canadienne du gaz (ACG) ont annoncé aujourd’hui un nouveau protocole d’entente qui facilitera la collaboration Canada-Israël en matière de cybersécurité dans l’industrie de la distribution de gaz naturel.

Signé à la fin de décembre par Messieurs Henri Rothschild, Ph. D., président de la FCIRDI, et Timothy Egan, président et chef de la direction de l’ACG, ce protocole d’entente favorise et appuie l’exploration d’une coopération technologique mutuellement avantageuse entre l’industrie canadienne de la distribution de gaz naturel et les entreprises israéliennes susceptibles de proposer des solutions de cybersécurité novatrices.

Le protocole d’entente établit un cadre concret pour des discussions productives entre les collaborateurs potentiels des deux pays. Il propose également la création d’un programme de coopération technologique en matière de cybersécurité afin de cerner les priorités, d’évaluer les possibilités particulières et d’envisager l’application de solutions technologiques israéliennes novatrices en réponse aux besoins des entreprises canadiennes de distribution de gaz naturel.

La FCIRDI et l’ACG élaboreront un plan de mise en œuvre qui traduira le protocole d’entente en mesures concrètes et qui facilitera les discussions initiales de même que les possibilités de jumelage entre des partenaires canadiens et israéliens potentiels.

Citations :
« Les sociétés de distribution de gaz naturel se sont engagées à approvisionner en toute sécurité les quelque 6,8 millions d’abonnés qui comptent sur elles pour répondre à leurs besoins quotidiens en énergie. L’ACG et ses membres sont fiers de travailler avec la FCIRDI et l’Autorité d’innovation d’Israël, ainsi qu’avec les entreprises israéliennes de cybersécurité, pour faire avancer cette technologie dans l’intérêt commun de toutes les parties à l’entente. »

Timothy M. Egan
Président et chef de la direcrion
Association canadienne du gaz (ACG)

« Je suis fier du bilan de 23 ans de la FCIRDI dans l’établissement de partenariats technologiques mutuellement avantageux et amplement rentables entre Israël et le Canada. Ce protocole d’entente nous permettra de travailler ensemble pour répondre à une priorité essentielle, soit la nécessité d’accroître la résilience de l’infrastructure canadienne et de lutter contre les défis croissants en matière de cybersécurité. Grâce à l’échange continu d’information et à la coopération technologique, nous pouvons trouver, élaborer et adopter de nouvelles solutions de cybersécurité qui protègent les systèmes de distribution de gaz naturel du Canada, et créer de nouveaux marchés pour les deux pays. »

Henri Rothschild, Ph. D.
Président
Fondation Canada-Israël pour la recherche et le développement industriels (FCIRDI)

« Nous sommes heureux d’avoir pris part aux discussions entre la Fondation et l’ACG qui ont mené à cet important accord de coopération pour trouver en Israël des solutions de cybersécurité pour l’industrie gazière du Canada. Nous nous réjouissons à l’idée de collaborer avec les deux organisations par l’entremise du Groupe de travail et de tirer ainsi de cette importante initiative des résultats positifs. »

Terry Hubbard
Directeur général, Direction générale des ressources pétrolières
Ressources naturelles Canada

« En tant que président du conseil d’administration de la FCIRDI et chef de l’Autorité d’innovation d’Israël, j’applaudis l’accord signé entre la FCIRDI et l’ACG en réponse aux besoins de cybersécurité de cette dernière. Je suis convaincu que cette coopération technologique ajoutera une autre dimension importante à nos relations bilatérales. Nous sommes convaincus que les groupes de travail conjoints mettant en vedette les innovations israéliennes en cybersécurité renforceront la résilience de l’industrie gazière du Canada. »

Aharon Aharon
Président du conseil d’administration, FCIRDI
PDG de l’Autorité d’innovation d’Israël

Raccourcis :
Association canadienne du gaz
@gosmartenergy
LinkedIn
FondationCanada-Israël pour la recherche et le développement industriels
LinkedIn

L’ACG
L’ACG est le porte-parole du secteur de la distribution de gaz naturel au Canada, regroupant des entreprises de distribution, de transport, de fabrication et de services. Le gaz naturel occupe une place centrale dans l’approvisionnement énergétique du Canada dont il comble 36 % des besoins. Aujourd’hui, plus de 6,8 millions d’abonnés servant plus de 20 millions de Canadiens comptent sur le gaz naturel pour le chauffage et l’alimentation en énergie des maisons, des entreprises, des écoles et des hôpitaux.

La FCIRDI
La Fondation Canada-Israël pour la recherche et le développement industriels (FCIRDI) encourage la recherche-développement conjointe entre les deux pays, la stimule et y investit en cherchant principalement à commercialiser les nouvelles technologies. Établie en 1994 en vertu d’un traité officiel entre les gouvernements du Canada et d’Israël, la FCIRDI a des liens institutionnels avec l’Autorité d’innovation d’Israël (ancien Bureau du scientifique en chef du ministère israélien de l’Économie). La FCIRDI a financé plus de 120 projets de R-D collaboratifs qui ont contribué au développement et à la vente conjoints de plus de 60 nouveaux produits mondiaux. Cela a généré des centaines de millions de dollars en valeur économique pour les entreprises canadiennes et israéliennes au cours de la dernière décennie. Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez consulter : www.ciirdf.ca

Contacts
Paula Dunlop
Vice-présidente, Affaires corporatives et stratégiques
Association canadienne du gaz
613-748-0057 poste 341 ou 613-614-3280
pdunlop@cga.ca

Sonya Shorey
Stratège en communications
Fondation Canada-Israël pour la recherche et le développement industriels
Cell. : 613.851.9416
sonyashorey@ciirdf.ca

La FCIRDI est heureuse d’accueillir au Canada le directeur général de l’Autorité d’innovation d’Israël, à l’occasion d’un événement marquant : la 50e réunion de son conseil d’administration

18 décembre 2017

Le conseil d’administration salue le haut calibre des propositions de R et D industriels présentées dans le cadre des appels bilatéraux de propositions en R et D Ontario-Israël

OTTAWA, Ontario et TEL AVIV, Israël; 18 décembre 2017 — Plus tôt ce mois-ci, le conseil d’administration de la Fondation Canada-Israël pour la recherche et le développement industriels (FCIRDI) s’est rencontré à Toronto, en Ontario, pour la tenue de sa 50e réunion — une étape importante dans les 23 ans d’histoire de l’organisation. Il s’agissait de la première réunion dirigée par le nouveau président du conseil d’administration de la FCIRDI, M. Aharon Aharon, directeur général de l’Autorité d’innovation d’Israël (IIA), où tous les membres s’étaient présentés en personne. De hauts fonctionnaires du ministère de la Recherche, de l’Innovation et des Sciences (MRIS) de l’Ontario et de la mission économique d’Israël au Canada ont également assisté à la réunion, comme observateurs.

Dans le cadre de cette séance du conseil, le président de la FCIRDI a présenté un rapport sur le succès du récent appel bilatéral de propositions en R et D, ou la FCIRDI a reçu 19 documents, chacun  représentant une proposition de projet de collaboration entre une entreprise canadiennes et israéliennes. Les membres de la direction de la FCIRDI ont également communiqué au conseil leur vision d’avenir, laquelle a servi de base à une série de rencontres avec de hauts fonctionnaires d’Ottawa et de Toronto, présidées par M. Aharon, et qui avaient toutes pour but de consolider le mandat et le programme de la FCIRDI.

À l’occasion de cette rencontre, le conseil a aussi examiné des propositions bilatérales de projets de R et D, reçues en réponse à l’appel de propositions lancé dans le cadre du Programme de collaboration Ontario-Israël 2017. Les détails de toutes les demandes retenues seront dévoilés lors de leur approbation finale par le ministre de la Recherche, de l’Innovation et des Sciences de l’Ontario. Le conseil d’administration de la FCIRDI a salué le haut calibre des propositions présentées dans le cadre de cet appel d’offres, qui réunissait certaines des entreprises affichant les taux de croissance les plus élevés en Ontario et en Israël. Il a d’ailleurs indiqué que ces propositions étaient parmi les meilleures reçues à ce jour par la FCIRDI, dans le cadre du Programme de collaboration Ontario-Israël (PCOI) dont elle assure la gestion.

« Pour Israël, l’Ontario a toujours été et demeure une partenaire canadienne de choix, en matière d’innovation, a déclaré M. Aharon Aharon, directeur général de l’Autorité israélienne de L’innovation. Notre partenariat s’est traduit par de nombreux projets de R et D qui ont été couronnés de succès. Nous sommes impressionnés par la grande qualité des propositions présentées, plus particulièrement cette année, et par les innovations qui s’annoncent prometteuses pour nos deux économies. »

« Ce fut un plaisir d’accueillir M. Aharon Aharon au Canada, à l’occasion de cette rencontre marquante, a pour sa part mentionné M. Henri Rothschild, Ph.D., président de la FCIRDI. Ces collaborations technologiques soutiennent de manière directe la puissante vision établie par la FCIRDI et renforcent la façon dont les partenariats S et T entre le Canada et Israël sont des moteurs de croissance économique, pour nos pays respectifs. Les avantages et les répercussions mutuels ont fait la renommée de la plateforme de la FCIRDI qui est à la base de tous les projets que nous soutenons. »

À propos de la Fondation Canada-Israël pour la recherche et le développement industriels (FCIRDI) 

La FCIRDI promeut, stimule et finance des projets de recherche et de développement concertés d’entreprises du secteur privé des deux pays, en privilégiant tout particulièrement la commercialisation de nouvelles technologies. Créée en 1994, en vertu d’une entente officielle entre les gouvernements du Canada et d’Israël, la FCIRDI entretient des liens institutionnels avec l’Autorité israélienne de l’innovation (anciennement le Bureau de l’expert scientifique en chef du ministère de l’Économie). La FCIRDI a financé plus de 120 projets de R et D bilatéraux, qui ont contribué au développement conjoint et à la commercialisation de plus de 60 nouveaux produits dans le monde, générant des centaines de millions de dollars en retombées économiques pour les entreprises canadiennes et israéliennes, au cours des dix dernières années. Pour de plus amples renseignements sur la FCIRDI, visitez le www.ciirdf.ca

À propos de l’Autorité israélienne de l’innovation

L’Autorité israélienne de l’innovation (AII), anciennement connue comme le Bureau de l’expert scientifique en chef du ministère de l’Économie (et MATIMOP), est un organisme public indépendant et impartial ayant pour objectif de stimuler l’écosystème israélien de l’innovation et l’économie d’Israël dans son ensemble. Son rôle est d’encourager et de favoriser le développement des ressources israéliennes en matière d’innovation, tout en créant et en consolidant les infrastructures et le cadre nécessaires pour soutenir l’industrie du savoir tout entière. Pour de plus amples renseignements, visitez le http://www.matimop.org.il/

Demandes des médias :

Sonya Shorey
Stratège principale en communications, CIIRDF
Cell. : 613.851.9416
sonyashorey@ciirdf.ca

Author archives:

Dr. Orna Berry, Former Chair of the CIIRDF Board, Receives Honourary Doctorate from McGill University

9 July 2018

Dr. Orna Berry, former Chair of the CIIRDF Board and Israel Chief Scientist, receives an honorary doctorate from Dr. Martha Crago, Vice President, Research and Innovation, and Michael Meighen, Chancellor, McGill University.

McGill University Awards Dr. Orna Berry, Former Israel Chief Scientist and CIIRDF Chair of the Board, Honorary Doctorate

Innovation, Industry and Investment Veteran Recognized for Outstanding Contribution to Science and Society

Employees and Directors of the Canada-Israel Industrial R&D Foundation (CIIRDF) congratulate Dr. Orna Berry, former CIIRDF Chair of the Board of Directors and Israel Chief Scientist, on her receipt of an honorary Doctor of Science degree (honoris causa) at the spring 2018 convocation for the Faculty of Engineering at McGill University.

McGill is one of North America’s oldest and most distinguished universities, world renown for teaching and research.  Honorary doctorates are McGill University’s highest honors, recognizing the distinguished contribution, outstanding achievements and impact of exceptional individuals who serve as inspiration for the leaders of tomorrow.

Dr. Orna Berry delivers the keynote convocation address to the engineering graduates of McGill University in May 2018.

Through this honorary degree, McGill University recognized Dr. Berry’s outstanding contributions to her field, and society as a whole.  A scientist, businesswoman and innovation leader, Dr. Berry is the undisputed first lady of Israeli high tech and the first woman to serve as Israel’s Chief Scientist and Head of Research and Development at the Israeli Ministry of Industry and Trade.  With more than 30 years of experience, Dr. Berry has held numerous leadership positions in the Israeli science, technology and venture capital industries.  This includes a five-year tenure as the Chair of the Board of CIIRDF from 1996 to 2000.

In addition to her honorary degree, McGill also invited Dr. Berry to deliver the convocation address to the engineering graduates of 2018.  She provided a stirring presentation for these future leaders on the lawn of McGill’s beautiful campus in Montreal.

Just a few weeks later, Dr. Berry was recognized once again for her important contributions to the advancement of science, research and innovation at Israel’s Cyber Week where she received the Cyber Defender Award for 2018.  CIIRDF is proud to have benefited from Dr. Berry and her leadership during its formative years, and applauds those who have acknowledged her many accomplishments.

 

CIIRDF Announces New Bilateral Technology Projects Valued at $12 Million

11 May 2018

The Canada-Israel Industrial Research and Development Foundation (CIIRDF) today announced eight new bilateral R&D projects valued at almost $12 million that will help Canadian and Israeli firms compete in global markets.

Leveraging $4.7 million from CIIRDF, the projects bring together 20 Canadian and Israeli technology companies and research partners to create and commercialize new technologies with application in agriculture, energy, aerospace, and communications technologies.

Once commercialized, the emerging innovations are expected to generate downstream sales for partnering firms, and deliver significant return on this investment.  This will drive the creation of new high-quality jobs, spin-off products, services and applications, and long-term economic benefit to both Canada and Israel.

To learn more, download the complete CIIRDF Press Release and Project Backgrounder

For additional information, please contact:

Sonya Shorey
Communication Strategist
CIIRDF
Cell: 613.851.9416
sonyashorey@ciirdf.ca

CIIRDF Launches New Call for Canada-Israel R&D Projects

9 April 2018

OTTAWA, Canada and TEL AVIV, Israel; The Canada-Israel Industrial R&D Foundation (CIIRDF) today announced the launch of a new Call for Proposals (CFP) for bilateral R&D projects.  Leveraging support from the Governments of Canada and Israel, this CFP aims to stimulate R&D collaboration between firms in Canada and Israel with a focus on the commercialization of new technologies.

Eligibility: This Call invites private sector companies from Canada and Israel to propose joint research, R&D and technology development projects for the creation of innovative products or processes with a non-defense application. Preference will be given to small and medium sized enterprises (firms with fewer than 500 employees). The maximum length for projects funded under this Call is 24 months.

  • Canadian firms can leverage academic expertise on their R&D project and engage students jointly with the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada (NSERC).
  • Public sector organizations, such as universities and research institutions, are eligible to participate in R&D projects as project subcontractors or consultants (not applicants)

Funding: Following a rigorous evaluation process, CIIRDF selects and awards Canada-Israel R&D teams with financial contributions up to 50 percent of the eligible project costs to a maximum of CDN$ 800,000 per project,

Areas of Special Consideration: Special consideration will be given to projects in the following areas:

  • Information and Communication Technologies (including cyber, fintech)
  • Life Sciences
  • Aerospace
  • Clean tech and sustainable tech (including water, renewables), plus limited energy (oil and gas)
  • Agriculture and agrifood (including agri-tech)

Schedule:
Summary Proposal Submission Deadline: May 31, 2018
Full Proposal Submission Deadline: June 29, 2018
Notification of Approved Projects: October 2018

Seeking an R&D partner?  CIIRDF offers a matchmaking service for companies in both countries.

Apply Now:  Visit www.ciirdf.ca for application guidelines, templates and proposal evaluation details

For additional information, please contact:

The Board of Directors and Employees of CIIRDF Honour the Late Keith Parsonage, Valued Member of the CIIRDF Board of Directors for More Than 12 Years

20 March 2018

The Board of Directors and employees of the Canada-Israel Industrial R&D Foundation (CIIRDF) honour the late Keith Parsonage, Former Director General at Industry Canada and, valued member of the CIIRDF Board of Directors for more than 12 years.  Along with his many colleagues and friends in Canada and Israel, we are grateful for his dedicated service, leadership and commitment to the promotion of Canada-Israel R&D and technology partnership. We extend our sincere condolences to his family.

CIIRDF and the Canadian Gas Association (CGA) Strike Collaboration to Advance Cybersecurity in the Canadian Natural Gas Delivery Industry

9 January 2018

Mr. Timothy M. Egan, President and CEO of the Canadian Gas Association, and Dr. Henri Rothschild, President of CIIRDF, sign a new Memorandum of Understanding that will facilitate Canada-Israel collaboration in cybersecurity for the natural gas delivery industry.

OTTAWA, Ontario and TEL AVIV, Israel; January 9, 2018 – The Canada-Israel R&D Foundation (CIIRDF) and the Canadian Gas Association (CGA) today announced a new Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) that will facilitate Canada-Israel cybersecurity collaboration in the natural gas delivery industry.

Signed in late December by Dr. Henri Rothschild, President of CIIRDF, and Timothy Egan, President and CEO of the CGA, the MOU promotes and supports the exploration of mutually beneficial technology cooperation between Canada’s natural gas delivery industry and Israeli innovators and firms with cybersecurity solutions.

The MOU establishes a concrete framework for productive discussions among prospective collaborators in both countries. It also proposes the establishment of a cybersecurity technology cooperation program to identify priorities, evaluate specific opportunities, and consider application of innovative Israeli technology solutions to address the needs of Canadian natural gas delivery companies.

CIIRDF and the CGA will develop an implementation plan that translates the MOU into action, and facilitates initial discussions and matchmaking opportunities among potential Canadian and Israeli partners.

Quotes:
“Natural gas delivery companies are committed to the safe, secure and reliable delivery of natural gas to the 6.8 million customers who rely on it to meet their daily energy needs. CGA and our members are proud to work with CIIRDF and the Israel Innovation Authority, as well as with cyber solutions providers in Israel to advance technology solutions to our mutual benefit.”

Timothy M. Egan
President and CEO
Canadian Gas Association (CGA)

“I am proud of CIIRDF’s 23-year record in building mutually beneficial technology partnerships between Canada and Israel that deliver strong economic return. This MOU will enable us to work together to address a critical priority: the need to enhance the resilience of Canadian infrastructure and defend against growing cybersecurity challenges. Through ongoing information exchange and technology cooperation, we can identify, develop and adopt new cybersecurity solutions that protect Canada’s natural gas delivery systems, and create new economic opportunities for both countries.”

Henri Rothschild, Ph.D.
President
Canada-Israel Industrial R&D Foundation (CIIRDF)

“We are pleased to have been a part of the discussions between CIIRDF and the CGA that have led to this important agreement to cooperate in sourcing future cyber solutions in Israel for Canada’s gas industry. And we look forward to working with both organizations through the Working Group toward the successful outcome of this important initiative.”

Terry Hubbard
Director General, Petroleum Resources Branch
Natural Resources Canada

“As both Chairman of the CIIRDF Board of Directors, and the CEO of the Israel Innovation Authority, I applaud the accord signed between CIIRDF and the CGA on matters relating to the cybersecurity needs of the CGA. I am confident that such technological cooperation will add another important dimension to our bilateral relations. We are confident that the joint work groups featuring Israeli cyber technology innovations will enhance the resilience of Canada’s gas industry.”

Aharon Aharon
Chairman of the Board, CIIRDF
CEO of the Israel Innovation Authority

Quick Links:
Canadian Gas Association
@gosmartenergy
LinkedIn
Canada Israel Industrial R&D Foundation
LinkedIn

About CGA
CGA is the voice of Canada’s natural gas delivery industry and its members are distribution companies, transmission companies, equipment manufacturers and other service providers. Natural gas has a central place in Canada’s energy mix meeting 36 per cent of the country’s energy needs. Today 6.8 million customers representing well over 20 million Canadians rely on natural gas for heat and power in homes, businesses, hospitals and schools.

About CIIRDF
The Canada-Israel Industrial R&D Foundation (CIIRDF) promotes, stimulates and invests in collaborative research and development between companies in Canada and Israel, with a focus on the commercialization of new technologies. Established in 1994 under a formal treaty between the Governments of Canada and Israel, CIIRDF is connected institutionally with the Israel Innovation Authority (the former Office of the Chief Scientist in Israel’s Ministry of the Economy). CIIRDF has financed more than 120 collaborative R&D projects that have contributed to the joint development and sale of more than 60 new global products. This has generated hundreds of millions of dollars in economic value for Canadian and Israeli companies over the past decade. For additional information, please visit: www.ciirdf.ca

Contacts
Paula Dunlop
Vice President, Corporate and Strategic Affairs
Canadian Gas Association
613-748-0057 ext. 341 or 613-614-3280
pdunlop@cga.ca

Sonya Shorey
Communications Strategist
Canada-Israel Industrial R&F Foundation
Cell: 613.851.9416
sonyashorey@ciirdf.ca

 

 

CIIRDF Welcomes CEO of the Israel Innovation Authority to Canada for Landmark 50th Board of Directors Meeting

18 December 2017

Board Commends High Calibre of Industry-Led R&D Applications to Bilateral Ontario and Canada R&D Calls for Proposals

OTTAWA, Ontario and TEL AVIV, Israel; December 18, 2017 – Earlier this month, the Board of Directors of the Canada-Israel Industrial Research and Development Foundation (CIIRDF) met in Toronto, Ontario to host its 50th meeting – a milestone in the 23-year history of the organization. It marked the first in-person Board meeting led by CIIRDF’s new Chairman, Mr. Aharon Aharon, the Chief Executive Officer of the Israel Innovation Authority (IIA). Senior representatives from the Ontario Ministry of Research, Innovation and Science (MRIS), and the Israeli Economic Mission to Canada also attended the meeting as observers.

This important session featured a report from the CIIRDF President on the successful response to the recent bilateral Call for R&D Proposals (CFP), in which CIIRDF received 19 full proposals from Canadian and Israeli firms. CIIRDF management also briefed the Board on its vision for the future. This served as an important backdrop to a series of meetings hosted by Mr. Aharon with senior officials in Ottawa and Toronto, all of which aimed to strengthen the CIIRDF mandate and program.

During this meeting, the Board also reviewed bilateral R&D project proposals received in response to the 2017 Ontario-Israel Collaboration Program Call for Proposals. The details of all successful applications will be released upon final approval from the Ontario Minister of Research and Innovation. Bringing together some of the highest growth companies across Ontario and Israel, the CIIRDF Board commended the high calibre of the proposals, noting they are among the best received to date under the Ontario-Israel Collaboration Program (OICP) managed by CIIRDF.

“Ontario has been, and continues to be, a major Canadian innovation partner of Israel,” said Mr. Aharon Aharon CEO of the Israel Innovation Authority. “Our partnership has resulted in many successful R&D collaboration projects. This year in particular we are very pleased by the high quality of the projects submitted and the promising innovations they hold for both our economies.”

“It was a pleasure to welcome Mr. Aharon Aharon to Canada for this landmark Board meeting,” said Dr. Henri Rothschild, President of CIIRDF. “These technology collaborations directly support the powerful vision established by CIIRDF, and reinforce how Canada-Israel S&T partnerships serve as major engines of economic growth for both countries.  Mutual benefit and impact are hallmarks of the CIIRDF platform that underpin every project we support.”

About the Canada-Israel Industrial R&D Foundation (CIIRDF)

The Canada-Israel Industrial R&D Foundation (CIIRDF) promotes, stimulates and invests in collaborative research and development between companies in Canada and Israel, with a focus on the commercialization of new technologies. Established in 1994 under a formal treaty between the Governments of Canada and Israel, CIIRDF is connected institutionally with the Israel Innovation Authority (the former Office of the Chief Scientist in Israel’s Ministry of the Economy). CIIRDF has financed more than 120 collaborative R&D projects that have contributed to the joint development and sale of more than 60 new global products. This has generated hundreds of millions of dollars in economic value for Canadian and Israeli companies over the past decade. For additional information, please visit: www.ciirdf.ca

About the Israel Innovation Authority

The Israel Innovation Authority, formerly known as the Office of the Chief Scientist of the Ministry of Economy (& MATIMOP), is an independent and impartial public entity that operates for the benefit of the Israeli innovation ecosystem and Israeli economy as a whole. Its role is to nurture and develop Israeli innovation resources, while creating and strengthening the infrastructure and framework needed to support the entire knowledge industry. For additional information, please visit: http://www.matimop.org.il/

Media inquiries:
Sonya Shorey
Communications Strategist, CIIRDF
Cell: 613.851.9416
sonyashorey@ciirdf.ca